Workshop Testimonials

These are all testimonials for my 1 day CREATIVITY FOR SCRIPTWRITERS course

‘Philip Shelley’s two-day course was invaluable in building confidence in my writing abilities and in making a career in screenwriting seem both realistic and accessible. His knowledge of the industry and advice on how it all (really) works is second to none and his talks, as well as those of his excellent guest speakers, packed more information into two days than many screenwriting ‘how-to’ books do cover-to-cover.
Philip’s name comes up time and again as an industry expert and champion of new writers for a reason, and the chance to hear what he has to say should not be missed.’
KATE TRAILL PRICE, June 2019

‘This is a fantastic, varied and intensive course, which I highly recommend. Philip is a generous and brilliant course tutor, and the calibre of the guest speakers is outstanding. I would absolutely recommend if you are looking to gain insight into the TV industry, or
just looking to develop your writing craft further. It’s a thought-provoking, challenging and inspiring few days.’
JESSICA NORMAN, June 2019

‘This course provided an in-depth introduction to how the industry works, contact with industry professionals (both participants and speakers) and hands-on experience with some essential writing skills. It’s amazing how much was packed in!’
ANGUS BARNACLE & CAMILLA GREENE, June 2019

‘I found Phil’s Two-Day Screenwriting course extremely helpful when it comes to developing my own writing, as well as gaining a better understanding of the industry as a whole. From effective creative exercises to hearing from established figures within film and television, the course was well designed and covered every aspect and more for breaking in and making it as a screenwriter. I’d highly recommend the course to anyone who is fully dedicated to their writing and keen to know what they have to do in order to take that next step.’
ANDY MCDONALD, June 2019

‘Philip Shelley is the real deal. He has the skills and experience to deliver a great screenwriting course. His pedigree is also evident in the quality of guest speakers that he can attract, not least those who have already benefited from his support on their way to success. He also attracts and recruits great delegates, which is vital, as positive interaction is so important. The screenwriting course is a nice balance of creative exercises alongside craft and business insights. Philip’s primary focus is clearly on helping to liberate great writing, a fact ably demonstrated by the very reasonable course cost. This is done for love not money. Highly recommended.’
PAUL WALDER, June 2019

‘Philip is a wonderful teacher and has such passion and nuanced insight into the world of Screenwriting that you can’t help but leave the course inspired and itching to write. I’d recommend this course to anyone who wants to write. 10/10 all round.’
DAN CONNOLLY, June 2019

‘Was hesitant, having done quite a few short courses (and long courses) before in Screenwriting, but this course was excellent. There’s a good balance of group work and lecture, with a sprinkling of pitch practice thrown in. No matter how many Scriptwriting books you’ve read or courses you’ve been on this is a great motivator, refresher and kick in the arse for anyone whose well of inspiration is currently a little on the dusty side.’
NICK FLUGGE, June 2019

‘Philip Shelley gave a masterly performance leading the weekend screen-writing course. Not only imparting his own extensive knowledge and experience in a gentle manner, but also with the ability to bring in outstanding speakers working in the industry. Altogether a generous sharing of knowledge appreciated by the whole group.’
KATE FITZROY, June 2019

‘Whether you’re a new writer or a seasoned professional, this two-day course is great for getting you prepared to write your masterpiece and make the most of your writing career. The teaching of detailed craft techniques and input from writers and agents working in the industry make it invaluable – especially given the reasonable cost.’
TR GUEST, June 2019

‘Philip’s workshop was 2 days of clear-headed craft and career strategy, minus a lot of the BS you might find elsewhere! It did more to demystify the industry, which can feel somewhat closed-shop, than just about any other course I’ve done. I came away with more confidence in my ideas both old and new, and a bundle of ways to turn those ideas into better scripts. If you get the chance to do it – go!’
KRYSTINA NELLIS, June 2019

‘Having received the script-consultant newsletter for a while and having read a few books on screenwriting, it seemed the obvious next step to attend a course. I’m so pleased I chose Philip’s. He and his guests conveyed a huge amount of information in a relaxed and enjoyable way and I came away from the weekend feeling that I’d really learnt a lot. I have no hesitation in recommending this course.’
KEN POTTER, June 2019

‘The two-day screenwriting course was simply amazing – the perfect blend of practical exercises, Q&As with industry professionals, and detailed learning sessions on the craft and the business. I gained so much knowledge and inspiration from this weekend, and as a real bonus, got to connect with an amazing network of fellow writers, who I have stayed in touch with.’
AMY KHAN, June 2019

‘Phil’s courses are always thoroughly educational and inspiring and the 2 Day Screenwriting Course was no exception. Phil’s focus on coming up with ideas, pitching them and then considering ways to package them into series bibles left everyone buoyed by their ideas and hungry to get going on their pitch documents!’
ZARA SYMES, June 2019

‘Philip’s screenwriting course was such a jam-packed, interesting, and informative two days! Rather than just sitting and listening to a lecture on screenwriting, the course was so interactive. It made me take a long hard look at the scripts I’ve been writing (ahem- thinking about writing) and gave me the inspiration and encouragement to get fingers to the keyboard. By getting real screenwriters in as guest speakers, the course also provided a very real look at ‘the business’ of screen writing, and what life will be like when we ‘make it’. A weekend well spent.’
CARLY MILLS, June 2019

‘Philip and his guests are incredibly generous in their sharing of knowledge and experience. Full of practical advice, the course is packed with really useful information – even if you’ve been reading books on scriptwriting all your life! I felt so privileged to be part of that group and came home feeling inspired and full of ideas. If you’re thinking about a career in scriptwriting, this is just the kickstart you need. Highly recommended.’
MARCELO SPINELLI, May 2019

‘A clear-minded, concise introduction to the basics of screenwriting – highly recommend. ‘
SUE HEALY, May 2019

‘As one of those people whose aim is to (and here comes a cliché) realise the long -held dream of writing a screenplay, this course ticked so many boxes that I ran out of boxes! Insightful, stimulating, pragmatic, varied and brutally honest, each exercise was designed to understand, question and confront the dream into a reality.

Looking round at the group, a diverse gathering of age, gender and experience, it is obvious that we can learn so much from others. I don’t know if there is a collective noun for screenwriters, but I think it should be “an inspiration”!

Thank you Philip and your team.’
FRAN MORRIS, May 2019

‘At whatever level you are in your writing, Philip Shelley’s course is certainly worth every penny!’
ANTONY ZAKI, May 2019

‘Even for writers with experience like myself, this was a great reminder that when it comes to writing, less is more and that the emphasis should be on visual storytelling, as opposed to talking heads. I got five or six email addresses from development executives at the networking drinks afterwards – which was worth the price alone!’
ROSSA MCPHILLIPS, May 2019

‘Philip Shelley’s one-day introduction to screen-writing has literally changed my life. The amount of information and the introduction to experts in the field were quite amazing. I now feel inspired to move forward with adapting my novels. Philip is a truly dynamic mentor.’
KATE FITZROY, May 2019

‘This is a fantastic course and will be invaluable to anyone interested in screenwriting – whether just starting out or having completed some scripts. There’s so much packed into the day from script presentation to the working life of a screenwriter. Philip is thorough, approachable and explains everything clearly. I came away excited, enthused and ready to work on my projects. I couldn’t recommend it highly enough – book it, you definitely won’t be disappointed!’
VICTORIA CLARKE, May 2019

‘This was an interesting and informative day with experienced industry professionals. Well worth the trip from Manchester.’
DEBORAH SEKIBO, May 2019

‘I attended the Introduction to Screenwriting course in May 2019 and would highly recommend it for anyone just starting out on their screenwriting journey. Having studied for an MA in Creative Writing where tutor guidance on screenwriting was very minimal, I was looking for a back-to-basics approach on the principles of formatting and crafting screenplays with additional advice on ways to break into the industry. I was not disappointed! The course delivered on both fronts as well as offering the opportunity to meet with like-minded writers from a variety of backgrounds and the chance to chat with industry professionals at an organised networking event at a local pub afterwards. I came away feeling informed, inspired and motivated to carry on with my screenwriting!’
LINDA BUTLER, May 2019

‘As a relative beginner, I would highly recommend Philip’s One-Day course to anybody that is taking their first steps into screenwriting. I went in with many questions, from basic formatting queries to story-telling principles, and all were addressed without even needing to ask.

Philip himself explained the basic principles of story-telling perfectly in a relatively short amount of time and whetted my appetite to learn more about applying these principles to my own work. As well as Philip, Vinay and Anna provided valuable insights into having a career in the industry and how they view story-telling and were both very approachable at the networking session afterward, as were the many people that also attended from various areas of the television world.

I’m now very much looking forward to the two-day course!’
RYAN LOWE, May 2019

‘Philip’s one-day screenwriting course was a fantastic experience which has given me the confidence to put pen to paper and write my first script. Not only was it very practical in terms of teaching us about the craft of screenwriting, but we also received entertaining and informative talks from Bafta-nominated screenwriters and the networking event in the evening was a great opportunity to speak to people in the industry, and I left with a lot of tips – and email addresses! I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who has an idea for a script and wants to know where to begin.’
ELLIE HARRISON, May 2019

‘I don’t believe that this course is necessary for beginners. It can accommodate and provide interest at all levels of writing. I have completed an MA and done some script work in TV, but after a lapse in the business, I used Introduction to Screenwriting as a boost to get me back on track. I was not disappointed.’
BOBBY STEVENSON, May 2019

‘I’m surprised how in one day I have been filled with the inspiration to go out there and write more and know where to go!’
ADAM SAVVA, May 2019

‘I loved the course and honestly I’m excited to start my script writing journey wherever that takes me. I found that what we covered really helped me do that and demystify the process. I loved the practical advice, the breakdown of the day and the guest speakers who I could have listened to for much longer. In many ways it focused on the ‘business’ of script writing, which was both inspiring but a reality check against the more sentimental motivations for writing.’
POLLY HILLS, May 2019

‘I would highly recommend Phil’s one-day course. For those who are unable to commit to his two-day course, this is an intense but satisfying and inspiring day of talks and lessons which were useful for the broad spectrum of experience levels in attendance – from beginners, to those with more familiarity with screenwriting. Each session had a different format to keep the day engaging and the guest speakers were humorous and insightful. The evening networking session Phil organised was a great idea. Writing can be an isolated experience, so it was wonderful to socialise with fellow course attendees, and the industry professionals Phil invited went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. The whole day was buzzing with warmth and enthusiasm, which sent me home inspired to get back to writing.’
JACK KENDALL, May 2019

‘I would highly recommend this course as an insight to the screenwriting process and introduction to how to break into the business. It offers invaluable guidance and clarity to individuals who are still learning the craft.’
TOM HOWARD, May 2019

‘Loved Phillip Shelley’s one day screenwriting course. It gave me an insight into what it’s like to be a screenwriter that’s been missing from other courses I’ve done. With their input and enthusiasm Philip and the speakers (Anna Symon and Vinay Patel) made me think that crafting a script, getting it out there and actually becoming a screenwriter could become reality (though obviously with a lot of hard work along the way!). Their enthusiasm made me go and off and talk to others about how I was going to do my best to make this happen for me.’
ELEANOR THOMPSON, May 2019

‘A must for anyone wanting to be writer! It gave me inside knowledge of the industry, which demystified what a winning spec script looks like. This made me realise that I’m a better writer than I thought and gave me a much-needed boost of confidence to keep persevering.’
CHRIS PARKER, May 2019

‘I learnt more in one day on this course than I did in years reading books on screenwriting. An absolute must for all aspiring screenwriters. ‘
SHAIDA CHAUDHURY, May 2019

‘Thoroughly enjoyed this one day ‘Introduction to Screenwriting’ with Phillip Shelley. He is the real deal and came highly recommended – and I wasn’t disappointed.

Very engaging and informative, so much information to disseminate in one day but as a seasoned pro he delivered and gave lots of useful handouts for us to read and research in our own time.

His generosity extended to the quality of the guest speakers, two successful TV writers who had both been tutored by Phil, and they in turn were generous with their time and answering our questions as fledgling ‘wannabe’ screenwriters.

The organisation was of a high standard and we had access to a very useful networking event in the evening. We met many past graduates of Phil’s longer course and industry professionals; again testimony to Phil’s reputation that so many attended and gave their time and spoke with us so generously.

Left me hungry for more.

Now to sign up for the two-day course – Yes, it was that good and worth every penny or pound…!


BLEUE GRANADA, May 2019

‘Philip Shelley’s writing course blew my mind.

Having completed several online scriptwriting courses, I wanted to attend a course where I had interaction with others.

It was great to meet with other writers, who are also struggling where to go from writing their scripts.

Also, I now have an understanding of how a script is structured (correctly)!

My head was buzzing when I left and I hardly slept (which is a good thing) as I was thinking about all the idea’s I have.

I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to gain some direction and help with their scriptwriting. I cannot wait until the next two-day course.

The networking afterwards was very insightful. The writers and producers that were there, gave me some great tips and hints on what to do next with my scripts.

Thank you, Philip, and everyone else who attended to make this course a fantastic day.’
KATHLEEN KIRKLAND, May 2019

‘I found Philip’s one-day Introduction to Screenwriting course hugely enlightening. Philip was the perfect host, and the guest speakers were inspirational and generous with their advice. The informal, convivial atmosphere at the post-course networking event ensured there were plenty of opportunities to speak with other like-minded writers, as well as experienced industry professionals. I met some wonderful people and I would recommend this course to anyone considering screenwriting as a potential vocation.’
MARIE BELSTEN, May 2019

‘Philip’s 1-day programme is really well-balanced. It’s helped me understand how to put a script together, so I’m confident to submit one knowing it’s layout conforms. Hearing from Anna Symon what it’s like to work in the industry and her journey into becoming a successful in-demand television screenwriter was insightful. And speaking one-to-one with a couple of tv script-editors, who kindly answered all my questions, helped reframe an idea I was struggling with. I got some valuable take-away’s and overall the day sped by and left me wanting more. Highly recommend.’
JANE UNSWORTH, May 2019

‘Phil’s writing course is incredible, I only wish it were a bit longer. I was having a bit of writers block before the course started and I’ve barely stopped writing since. I learnt so many ways and means to approach either a new piece of writing or help with something you’re already struggling with, that no matter the task, I feel equipped and ready to take it on. Phil is so engaging and encouraging of your ideas, he makes you feel at ease and that you can ask anything. The guest speaker Q and A’s were so insightful and inspiring, but at the same didn’t sugar coat how hard it can be. It was great to hear their journey, and how far they’ve come in such a short space of time. I can now move forward in my writing with not only a greater understanding of techniques, but also with countless new knowledge of the industry as a whole.’

Antonia Castilla, May 2018

Phil’s two-day screenwriting course is brilliant – the perfect chance to road-test new ideas in a smart, supportive environment and fascinating to meet a mix of writers with such different approaches. He covers a huge amount in two days (like structure, character and how to pitch, with specific examples to illustrate) and I really enjoyed the chance to hear writers Vinay Patel and Regina Moriarty discuss their experiences in the industry. Phil himself is an exceptionally warm, astute, enthusiastic teacher with loads of experience and I’ve already signed up for another of his courses later in the year.’

Ed Cripps, May 2018

‘I was concerned it would be a waste of time because I had lost faith in my ideas and voice but it has given me an unbelievable energy and enthusiasm for writing. I have come out with clarity on old ideas and loads of new ones. I have met amazing people who I am definitely going to keep in touch with and hopefully share work with / build writing groups with. I have learnt about communities within writing that would tackle the isolation. I loved the sharing of thoughts, the interaction, hearing everyone’s ideas…extraordinarily empowering.’

Lotte Rice, May 2018

‘The opportunity to tap into Phil’s extensive knowledge of the craft and the business was outstanding and cannot be overstated. More importantly it was delivered in a wonderfully warm and genuine environment. All participants were at different stages of their career and as someone in the lower echelons of the writing world, I was made to feel like an equal and enthusiastically encouraged. The guest speakers were of a high quality and offered incredible insight into the craft and the business. Extremely beneficial and enjoyable course, I cannot recommend enough!’

Noel McCann, May 2018

‘A fantastic weekend packed with creative inspiration, practical career advice and interesting conversation.  Philip was really encouraging and enthusiastic and I have come away feeling motivated and prepared to get down to some serious screenwriting.  It was also a great opportunity to meet other aspiring and exciting writers.  Thank you. I really enjoyed myself.’

Richard Crawley, May 2018

‘Philip’s weekend course offers great value for money. He covers a lot of important ground with intelligence, humour and humanity, and offers invaluable insights into both the craft and career aspects of screenwriting. The writers and agent who came in to talk to the group were also generous in sharing their experience, and added to the quality of the weekend. Highly recommended.’

Jonathan Young, May 2018

‘The best job I had growing up was in a cinema, where a group of people came together all with different ages and experiences but shared hopes and dreams. We’d do a bit of work showing people how to find their way around in the dark then watch and chat about films. It was a magical time.

Philip Shelley’s screenwriting course recreated this magic only with a purpose.

I came across the course through a chance recommendation from a long-lost friend and had little idea about quite how esteemed, professional and fascinating it would be. With Phil and his guest speakers, you’re among screenwriting royalty but these royals are generous with their knowledge and not just their smiles – though there are plenty of those too.

It’s a fun weekend. Busy but hugely enjoyable and I learned everything I thought I wanted to plus a lifetime’s worth of knowledge shared about a craft and a business I’ve obsessed about but never fully understood.

If you are serious about screenwriting as a career or you just want to learn to write screenplays for fun while being encouraged by the best in the business and goaded by a pile of a billion biscuits, this is the course for you.  Fruit, water and biscuits are included.’

Rich Browning, May 2018

‘I thoroughly enjoyed the Screenwriting Course, I loved the fluidity that we had within the topics. The guest speakers really add value and allow you to gain perspective on how committed to the cause you need to be for success. It was great to have such a varied group of individuals at all levels of experience to share ideas with.’

Sam Stretton, May 2018

‘I thoroughly recommend Philip’s two day screenwriting course. I learned more in a weekend than I ever thought possible. Beyond this, I met some fanatically inspiring people, had enormous fun and left on the Sunday with a head full of ideas and the confidence to see them through. The course manages to be both theoretical and practical, also giving a realistic overview of the business of screenwriting in a rapidly changing landscape. Frankly, I’d like to do the course all over again!’

Holly Seddon, May 2018

‘An excellent two-day course, both for complete beginners and those with more experience. The sessions on the business side of screenwriting were particularly good as this is so often overlooked. I had so many light-bulb moments! And hearing from the guest speakers was a real highlight!’

Stevie Cooke, May 2018

‘Philip’s screenwriting course is great whether you’re considering becoming a writer or are already in the industry and looking to continue to grow your skills and industry knowledge. It was great to meet other writers, and Philip is definitely the person you want to be getting screenwriting advice from. The weekend was very interactive and fun and I could definitely do it all over again!’

Alannah Olivia, May 2018

‘Still high and buzzing from Philip Shelley’s Screenwriting Course. It cleverly bridged creativity, craft and practical, current advice to kick start a screenwriting career. Phil and the fantastic speakers, Anna Symon, Cat Jones and Jonathan Kinnersley, were generous and open with their experiences, advice and feedback. I defy anyone not to leave bursting with ideas, motivation and optimism.’

Julia Wurz, March 2018

‘I really recommend Phil’s course for a few things – for offering invaluable time to pitch your ideas (and improve them) in a positive, helpful environment – for the time spent with highly successful agents and writers (often course alumni), who were more than happy to share their insights into the industry – and for the course’s sense of practicality. We were there to talk about work, which I liked!’

Olivia Gagan, March 2018

‘I found Philip’s two day screenwriting course to be a fantastic mix of inspirational and useful. Sessions on craft and theory but also tonnes of practical, useful advice on how to get work and build a career in writing. It gave us useful tools in how to keep finding new ideas and to see if these were the sort of ideas that were industry focused. The small class size really helped keep things focused and friendly. Sometimes in a huge class a short pitching exercise ends up taking up half the day. Phil packs so much into these two days and gives everyone honest feedback and advice. The three guest speakers were fantastically generous with their personal stories, funny and entertaining but also shared real insider industry knowledge. The course is really good value for money and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.’

Fiona Kellett, March 2018

‘I couldn’t recommend this course enough. As a writer (early on in their screenwriting endeavour) I found this experience truly invaluable. Over the course of a weekend I learnt a number of crucial fundamentals on the screenwriting craft, along with some indispensable advice on how to break into the industry. This course inspired me to really examine the process of storytelling, considering vital questions I hadn’t yet considered – and overall to approach my writing in a new and exciting way.

Thanks to the skilful structure of the course, the ground we covered in just two days was really impressive – my only wish was that it was longer! I found it incredibly galvanising to be around other writers, collaborating on ideas with them in group workshops, and listening to a varied and brilliant mix of guest speakers (an agent and two script writers). It’s a really inclusive atmosphere – in which you are encouraged to ask as many questions as possible – and the small intake ensures that everyone has a chance to contribute.

Writing can be a solitary business, so it’s such a joy to meet a handful of wonderful and interesting new writers with whom I hope to stay in contact with. Starting out can be intimidating but Philip’s course gave me both the confidence and clarity of how to take the next steps.’

Daisy Stenham, March 2018

‘I enjoyed the variety of the weekend course, and found the topics covered relevant and up-to-date. The attitude and advice towards building a career in scriptwriting was very realistic and practical, but Phil is always encouraging. Having the guest speakers was brilliant, and they were all generous and supportive in sharing their experiences and answering questions. All in all, it is the perfect way to re- focus, refresh your understanding of craft, meet other writers and also pitch and develop new ideas to each other. I would definitely recommend it.’

Leah Dike, March 2018

‘Philip’s 2-day screenwriting course is an informative and entertaining bootcamp for aspiring writers. Filled with knowledge and experience with some great guest speakers, I finished the weekend having learned some important lessons on how to improve my writing, and how to make a career out of it. Couldn’t recommend highly enough!’

Sam Ferguson, March 2018

‘This course ticked all my boxes. Philip and his guest speakers offered warm, generous yet extremely practical advice. I left ready to engage with the industry as a professional.’

Helen Black, March 2018

‘Considering the course was only for two days, the information that I was given, I found not only hugely useful but also sunk in and made a real difference to my mindset over the next few days.

Having studied Screenwriting at university for three years, I was well prepared and used to how lectures are run and organised, but I felt there was so much genuine passion and knowledge in the room between us twenty writers, Phil and the guest speakers, that I took more from those two days in London, than I did in three years at university.

I wasn’t expecting a miracle cure to my writing or some hidden industry secret handshake, but I was expecting to leave the two days with at least three new points that I could use to my advantage…but to my delight, I left with more than just three.

The group were a delight to mix with not only in the room but in the pub afterwards and I think the main thing I learnt which I was very sceptical about doing, (especially after experiences at university) was working and talking with others, but the two day course has changed my mindset and it was very refreshing to be surrounded by like-minded people. Cheers once again Phil and I can’t wait for you to read my script.’

James Brennan, March 2018

‘The weekend course has helped me re-set & re-focus, an impressive amount was covered in just two days, it was fun & inspiring and I always enjoy the opportunity to connect with other writers. I left feeling re-energised & ready to embrace to next challenge. Thank you!’

Jennifer Smith, March 2018

‘I found Phil Shelley’s 2 day writing course to be an engaging and interactive foray into the world of screenwriting. Packed with useful tips for writers and supported by the experiences of industry guest speakers; If you are or have ever wanted to be a screenwriter then you are likely to come away from this course with some valuable insights.’

Stephen Ridley, October 2017

‘What was clear from the outset and throughout the course, was that Philip genuinely cared about the people in the room and made every attempt to provide helpful and constructive feedback to any and every question.

The exercises were a valuable creative process and the feedback personalised and sincere. The guest speakers provided valuable insight into often closed areas of the business, and like Philip, they made every effort to engage and help the students. Overall, an extremely worthwhile course for someone with an existing understanding of scriptwriting (however limited) looking for more guidance or inspiration down their path.’

Massimo Marioni, October 2017

‘Phil is a great course leader – enthusiastic, candid, supportive and with a great sense of humour – who really puts you through your paces, and manages to make everyone feel part of the weekend. Excellent guest speakers give real colour to the weekend, providing a range and depth of experience that will answer questions you didn’t know you had. Can’t recommend enough for anyone who is developing their screenwriting career.’

Peter Cragg, October 2017

‘A mentally invigorating and intense two days with lots packed in by Phil and the (brilliantly chosen!) guest contributors, who were really generous with their advice and knowledge-sharing. It’s a really inclusive course that’s both challenging and encouraging – I came away exhausted but very much re-enthused and am looking forward to applying some of the basic tenets to my next project. There was a lot of practical advice given, relating to the industry and trying to work within it that was pragmatic, very sound advice, which is invaluable. A course like this is a real investment – and the by-product of that investment is, you get to meet some lovely people !’

Liz Taylor, October 2017

‘This course has an impressive balance of interesting creative exercises to help improve the quality of your writing ideas, mixed with inspiring, humorous and informative talks from working screenwriters and an agent. I found it a really enjoyable weekend spent with a great group of fellow writers. I would strongly recommend taking this course to anyone who wants to learn more about screenwriting and the industry in general.’

Victoria Perkins, October 2017

‘If your writing mojo has upped and left for no good reason and you really miss it – DO THIS COURSE. It will return with flowers and apologies and a ton of great ideas.’

Penny Nichols, October 2017

‘A lot of screenwriting courses can be a bit candyfloss – they seem fun but the substance soon dissolves. Phil’s course is different: it gets to the meat and bones of what you need to do to become a working screenwriter. I left inspired, focused and determined. If you want to be a screenwriter, without hesitation, this is the course I recommend you take!’

Steve Coats-Dennis, October 2017

‘This course catapults the theory of screenwriting into the practical sphere of pitching and promoting your work. Whilst the essentials of writing a great script are covered, more time is spent on practising the skills required to help get your work made, from idea-generation to industry networking. We also received three separate visits from industry professionals who didn’t waste a second in sharing the passion for their profession, as well as answering any questions we had (and we had plenty). All in all, I most definitely came away feeling a sense of invigoration and a renewed desire to roll up my sleeves and get down to the business of writing.’

Nigel Pilkington, October 2017

‘I signed-up for Philip’s course because it looked like a great value for money option in terms of meeting other writers and guests who were already established in the industry. What I got out of it was so much more. Philip is a charming, patient and thoroughly engaging tutor who is obviously an expert in his field. Not just this – he really loves what he does and this enthusiasm is truly infectious. Besides introducing me to new creative strategies to improve my writing, he opened my eyes to a range of development opportunities which I had never really considered before. Philip made me realise that networking is a positive thing and I now have much more confidence to explore collaborative projects and funding opportunities. He also gave me some great tips on how to approach industry professionals in a way that makes me look more like a professional myself! Our guest speakers were entertaining and inspirational. It was great to hear from successful writers and to be reminded that they were once in the same place I am now. The other attendees on the course were an amazing bunch of people and it was great to meet them and share ideas with them. I hope to keep in touch with many of them for a long time. I would thoroughly recommend Philip’s screenwriting course to anyone wanting to take the next step in their career and I have such confidence in Philip that I will certainly be engaging his services as a script consultant in the near future.’

Simon Wilkinson, October 2017

‘Thank you, Philip Shelley, for an amazing two days of learning to craft and managing my writing in the most useful “Screenwriting: Telling your story” course. It was inspirational and full of tips. Will truly recommend any writers to help their projects to some very high standards.’

Kooi Gelndinning, Scientist by day and writer by night. October 2017

‘I came away from Philip’s course feeling so much more informed about the industry – with the addition of special guests, we were shown the inside track to the development world. Via Philip’s candid and experienced teachings, I began to look at story in a different way too; inspiration is never as far away as you think. Thank you again, I really enjoyed the weekend.’

Beth Warin, October 2017

‘Phil’s reputation as a sound proponent of the screenwriting art attracts wide, varied and enthusiastic people to the course. Not only are the days valuable, they are also great fun.’

Jan Caston, Feb 2015

‘I loved this course. I struggle to create a bank of ideas without self-doubt and criticism creeping in. It was great to work quickly on ideas and see how far they could be developed in one day. And it was fun to collaborate with a wide range of writers of varied experience across different media.’

Caroline Dean, Feb 2015

‘As screenwriters we spend a huge amount of time generating ideas – they are the lifeblood of what we do. The Creativity for Screenwriters Course is a whole day dedicated to thinking about how we generate ideas, and practising a variety of idea generating techniques in a fun, supportive environment. I would recommend this course to both novice and established writers. Even if you have used some of the techniques before, the opportunity to look objectively at the creative process and refine your skills can only be beneficial. Phil is a great teacher, and he always runs his courses in a warm, humorous manner. I can’t recommend this course enough.’

Anita Gallo, Feb 2015

‘A quick note to say many thanks for an excellent course. I found the dreaded rewrites a lot easier to grapple with after such an inspiring day. I hope to come to another of your courses someday but I’m confident I won’t need another shot in the arm any time soon!’

Lucy Flannery, Feb 2015

‘I found your course incredibly useful and highly enjoyable. It has really given me a lot to think about in the way that I approach stories and develop characters. It was very inspiring and I’m looking forward to putting what I’ve learned into practice.’

Sylvia-Ann Parker, Feb 2015

‘An excellent, inspiring course for anybody with a desire to see their words and ideas come alive as a screenplay. It certainly worked for me and got parts of the creative brain working again for the first time in years. It was a beautifully structured course that built on a series of exercises through the day while teaching the importance of collaboration. It was a lot of fun and very useful.’

Steve Langley, Feb 2015

‘I wanted to be re-motivated to carry on writing – and Phil has done that – Thank you.’

Anne Barford, Nov 2014

‘I was given Philip Shelley for my birthday: a generous and inspired gift! ‘Creativity for Scriptwriters’ was richer than chocolate and more useful than clothes. We stalked strangers through the streets, generated fistfuls of ideas, were happy for/jealous of/ enthused by Cat Jones, wrote loads and ended up in the pub getting vaguely drunk. It was great. Brilliant! On the train home, a pissed up fella from Inverness – fresh from watching a cage fight – sat down next to me. He shook my hand. ‘My names Ian. Two vowels and a consonant,’ he said. Thanks to the course, I didn’t think to myself, oh fuck. I just got out my pen and wrote down what happens next…’

Sarah Hehir, Nov 2014

‘Phil’s relaxed manner and encouraging approach set the tone for the day while the brisk pace, practical exercises and regular interaction with other participants ensured that our appreciation of ‘character’ and ‘relationship’ was repeatedly challenged and stimulated. Guest speaker Cat Jones provided a highly entertaining and informative take on her career and work, as well as plenty of useful tips, while the end of day trip to a nearby pub provided a great opportunity to share experiences and ideas with both novice and more experienced writers. I came away exhilarated and itching to get to grips with my latest project. My thanks for a great day that has already had an impact on my writing’

Anthony Etherington, Nov 2014

‘A fantastic tool for silencing the destructive ‘inner critic’’.

Sonya Desai, Nov 2014

‘Excellent course from a clearly very experienced writer. Philip listened carefully to everyone in the room & provided very useful feedback.’

Melissa Miners, Nov 2014

‘I was in a bit of a writing rut, story and character-wise. Phil’s course was very encouraging and engaging, making me feel more receptive to new characters and scenarios. I left with a reinvigorated creative writing approach and there’s a certain spring to my typing now! Highly recommended!’

Ros Philp, Nov 2014

‘Most writers are solitary creatures and it can be quite scary to consider breaking out of that comfort zone and sometimes it shows with the words and stories we create. The creativity for screenwriters course is like the first cup of tea of the day, totally comfortable and guaranteed to shake you up. Phil is a wonderful teacher, giving great ways to shake up your ideas and characters, with a listening ear and a nurturing method. No idea is shot down, and all ideas are liquid gold. Guaranteed to generate laughter and ideas, and a must for all!’

Kerry Mcintosh, Nov 2014

‘Hi Phil I got so much out of your one day Creativity for Scriptwriters course. I loved the pace of it (no time to self censor), and that it was so practical. You created a very positive and supportive environment that meant we all felt confident to take risks. I really enjoyed collaborating with others, and hearing their ideas. Your exercises helped to generate some great instant and original stories that would have taken weeks and weeks of slaving over a hot computer to come up with on our own, if at all! As a result I have some ideas bubbling away that I’ll continue to work on.’

Rachel Smith, Nov 2014

‘Most enjoyable and fun day. Really enjoyed working and sharing ideas with great people. Hope we can do it again. Got my brain and confidence going again. Thanks Phil.’

Steve Ridlington, Nov 2014

Dear Phil, I would like to say that when looking back at the course, what stands out is the amazing fact that we were able to create life stories for imaginary people from nothing but our imagination over the course of only a couple of hours. That fact has boosted my confidence, but mostly it has offered me an approach I can enjoy and indulge in when the writing becomes too hard. Anyway, I have learned a lot and had a really good time.

Meike Kooistra, Nov 2014

Hi Phil – Thanks so much for yesterday at the Actor’s Centre. It was a really rewarding day and gave me the tools and confidence needed to generate more and more ideas for my emerging work. Its simplicity was its strength. I may be in touch at some point in the future to use your script reading services, and I very much look forward to working with you again. The Creativity For Screenwriting Course was brilliant. A day spent with simple exercises that made one realise that huge story-idea potentials are all around us – if only we’d pay attention! It was fun, enlightening and overseen by a man who delivers his wisdom without ego and in a very caring set-up. Recommended!”

Finlay Robertson, Nov 2014

Hi Philip Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed yesterday’s workshop at the Actors Centre. It was most useful and has given me the confidence to have work read at their monthly writers’ drop-in night on Feb 28th.

Jamie Christian, Nov 2014

Comments are closed.