PRESS RELEASE – 12th July, 2021

Channel 4 today announces the 12 writers who won coveted places on this year’s Channel 4 Drama Screenwriting course, 4Screenwriting.

Over the last 11 years 4Screenwriting has been an invaluable course within the industry, creating the right conditions for new talent to flourish. The course reflects the channel’s commitment to finding and nurturing new voices and is a hothouse for writers to discover their own paths to making great television.

Since 2011, 4Screenwriting has scouted and worked with over 130 new writers, many of whom have gone on to enjoy notable screenwriting success.

The list of alumni includes screenwriters such as; Charlie Covell  (The End of the Fucking World, Banana); Anna Symon (Indian Summers, Mrs Wilson, The Essex Serpent), Theresa Ikoko (Rocks), Nathaniel Price (Noughts & Crosses, Tin Star, The Offenders) Adam Usden (Zero Chill), Namsi Khan (His Dark Materials, Humans), Chandni Lakhani (The Dublin Murders, Vigil).

Recent success stories include:  4Screenwriting alumni writing on C4 drama shows including HollyoaksAckley BridgeOn The Edge, and the forthcoming Screw; several of the course projects are going into active development with Channel 4 Drama; writers with their own, authored shows, on established series going into production or in writers rooms with ITV, BBC, Channel 5, Sky, Netflix, Amazon, Disney+, etc.

From almost 4,000 applications, the 12 writers that were selected and completed the 2021 course are: Jeffrey Aidoo, Lisa Carroll, Laurence Clark, Patricia Cumper, Thara Popoola, Martha Reed, Owen Richards, Emilie Robson, Hannah Shury-Smith, Amy Trigg, Will Truefitt and Jingan Young.

The writers received motivational, creative and practical advice to kick-start their careers with talks from high-profile writers, producers, directors and members of the Channel 4 commissioning team. These included Russell T Davies (It’s A Sin, Doctor Who), Theresa Ikoko (Rocks, Snatches: Moments from Women’s Lives), Anna Symon (Deep Water, Mrs Wilson), Sarah Brown (Creative Director of Drama, STV), David Davis (Executive Producer, Bad Wolf Productions), Lynsey Miller (Deadwater Fell, The Boy With The Top Knot), Hilary Norrish (Top Boy, Little Birds), Kate Leys (Churchill, Benjamin) and from the Channel 4 Drama team; Gemma Boswell (Head of Development) and Rebecca Holdsworth (Drama Commissioning Executive).

In addition, the writers received the expertise and guidance of their own script editors whilst developing their own original one-hour drama or drama serial. Once completed, the scripts were assigned to actors to read sections, followed by discussion and analysis.

Head of Channel 4 Drama, Caroline Hollick said: “4Screenwriting is an integral part of Channel 4 Drama’s commitment to finding, nurturing, and developing new talent. With the stellar support of Philip Shelley, the scheme has consistently found original and distinctive voices and this year is no exception. The team and I are excited to support these exceptional writers on the next steps of their career and see them flourish in the industry.”

Writer Charlie Covell said: “4Screenwriting is one of the best things I’ve done— I learnt a huge amount and received amazing support and guidance. I think it really helped me find my voice as a writer, and thepractical advice in terms ofnavigating the industry was invaluable.”

The 4Screenwriting course is open to applicants without a screenwriting credit and gives the opportunity to work with a dedicated script editor to write an original script. 

The course will be running again for 2022. Entries for 2022 will be accepted from mid-September for 3 weeks and details for this will be updated on in the coming weeks.

Notes to Editors:

The course is run for Channel 4 by Philip Shelley who runs his own Script Consultancy Service. Philip works with individual writers, producers and production companies. 

During the 2021 intake and for the first time in 4Screenwriting history, the programme ran a mentoring scheme for an additional 31 writers – more details about these writers can be found on Philip Shelley’s website 


 Here is the list of the 31 writers who have been mentored over the last 6 months by experienced industry practitioners (producers, script editors, development executives, literary agents, screenwriters):


Ayad Andrews
Louis Chan
Leanne Davis
Paul Frankl
Maryam Hamidi
Vanessa Hehir
Victoria Ibitoye
Aisheshek Magauina
Caitlin McEwan
Tom Shrapnel
Helen Simmons
Daisy Stenham
Callum Tilbury
Liv Warden
Ashleigh Weir


Florence Bell
Tina Biwas & Paul Stanway
Fran Bushe
Rachel Clark
Ed Cripps
Lucretia Devlin
Colin Elves & Ben Hogan
Katie Greenall
Alistair Hill
Luca McCormick
Houmi Miura
Anjli Mohindra
Lynda Radley
Claire Rowlands
Laurence Tratalos
Matt Wixey

NB If you would like any more information about any of these writers or would like to read their scripts, please contact me at: 

Please e-mail me if you have any queries